Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 7:17 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 923 posts ]  Go to page Previous 143 44 45 46 47 Next

Do you run rolling stock of a specific era on your layout?
No. I mix up different eras of rolling stock. 67%  67%  [ 6 ]
Yes. All the models i'd run simultaneously are from the same era of rolling stock 33%  33%  [ 3 ]
Total votes: 9
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 6:56 pm 
Online
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: Manchester
Gwyd wrote:
With the whole London idea, maybe you could just do a couple of streets around each route, and with the tube lines, the structure holding up whatever it may be in could be the colour of that line. Do the whole Oyster zone why not?
It goes to Gatwick now. But, iirc, Clapham Junction is within the proposed zone...

Leftie and myself had a rather large discussion about the whole London idea, and noticed a minor mistake in his maths. Basically, for an OO-Gauge scale map of London (just going off the Tube Network), we would require a building of somewhere in the region of 6.3 Million Square Feet. To put that into perspective, Boeing's Everett Factory (the third largest building by footprint, and a building designed for the construction of 747s) is only 4.3 Million Square Feet. Adding Gatwick into the equation would be, in my eyes at least, insane! :lol:

We also got a rough quote for a building of such size, and unfortunately, I don't know anyone with spare £2.15 Billion

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 9:40 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6082
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
We also then had a large conversation about doing it with Manchester, from the Airport down to Rochdale/Oldham focusing on Metrolink tram routes and mainland trains through Victoria, Piccadilly, Deansgate etc instead, which was much more feasible. But still would require great investment, although I got the feeling if we suddenly got the money we'd probably give it a good go :p

ps: maths was never a strong point for me

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 8:19 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 320
Location: S.W. London
How big is London's zone one though?
By my calculations, it's 125 meters (Earls court to Aldgate East) wide, and 75 meters tall (Vuxhaull to Kings Cross St. Pancras). So thats around 9375 sq M which is 100911.7 sq ft which is achievable.

https://propertylink.estatesgazette.com/property-details/6246641-unit-1-heathrow-logistics-park-bedfont-road-tw14-8ee-feltham

_________________
Image

Maker of many GRFs, most of which are pretty poor.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 9:54 am 
Online
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: Manchester
Gwyd wrote:
How big is London's zone one though?
By my calculations, it's 125 meters (Earls court to Aldgate East) wide, and 75 meters tall (Vuxhaull to Kings Cross St. Pancras). So thats around 9375 sq M which is 100911.7 sq ft which is achievable.

The issue with London Zone 1 is that it is all underground, there is very little to see above ground (other than the buses, the stretch between London Bridge + Cannon St/Charing Cross, and a few boats). We did discuss a scaled down London Idea, with the boundaries being Heathrow to the West, Harrow to the North, Barking to the East and Croydon to the south, and came up somewhere in the region of 2.5 Million Sq Ft.

We discussed the Manchester idea, and I think we came up with a ballpark figure of around 1.2Million Sq ft. (Edit - Actually about 800k sq ft looking at my calculations) So for something not much bigger than the London Zone 1, we can do Manchester, where there is probably more to see, as well as more variation in buildings densities, etc.

EDIT - I hope you don't mind me questioning your calculations here, For London Zone 1, I make the Eastern and Western most points to be 16 miles apart, and the Northern and Southern most points to be 3 miles apart, yet your layout size is 125m x 75m. In my head at least, that doesn't make sense.

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 6:30 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 320
Location: S.W. London
I probably did it wrong: I went from the mentioned stations with google maps, then divided the distances by 72, and then rounded it.

Another thought since I was on the Tube today, that may be slightly mad: do it like it is on the map. Extremely inaccurate but you'd pick a few main landmarks between stops, and keep the diagram's scaling.

_________________
Image

Maker of many GRFs, most of which are pretty poor.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 8:41 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17055
Location: Harringay, North London
Now then...


Attachments:
Chimneys.jpg
Chimneys.jpg [ 124.73 KiB | Viewed 954 times ]

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 10:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6128
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
An interesting addition to my collection... ;)

Intercity Voyager.
Image

Image

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 11:55 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:08 am
Posts: 1021
Location: Perth, Western Australia
That's gotta have an amazing story behind it. :D

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6128
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
Doorslammer wrote:
That's gotta have an amazing story behind it. :D


I saw it for sale and said "I MUST HAVE IT!" and that was it :P
Not much of a story to be fair :mrgreen:

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 12:13 pm 
Online
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: Manchester
So, that's what a Voyager will look like if the railways get re-nationalised!

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 1:49 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6082
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Pilot wrote:
So, that's what a Voyager will look like if the railways get re-nationalised!

I will actually miss all the different colored liveries we get with franchises.
I hope renationalisation won't make them all a sad boring all the same color :(

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 12:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6128
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
Redirect Left wrote:
I hope renationalisation won't make them all a sad boring all the same color :(


I'd suspect, if such a thing did happen anyway, that it would be under one company eventually, but split into the appropriate sectors like South Eastern, Southern, South Western, Great Western, Thames Valley, Chiltern, Thameslink, Great Northern, Great Anglia, East Coast, West Coast, Midland Mainline, etc etc :P

Would probably make more sense so everyone knows what goes where :D

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 12:37 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17055
Location: Harringay, North London
Dave wrote:
Now then...


Spot the difference...


Attachments:
IMG_0337.JPG
IMG_0337.JPG [ 120.8 KiB | Viewed 858 times ]

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 3:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13161
Location: The Netherlands
The foundations of the viaduct gave in and is now half as high :shock: .

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 11:06 pm 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6082
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Hyronymus wrote:
The foundations of the viaduct gave in and is now half as high :shock: .
God dammit, I spent ages looking at that and I never saw that rather obvious thing.

Also, mods; I don't seem to be able to edit the poll on the first post, if any of you want to give us a fresh new Model Railways related poll to vote on? That's been there many moons now.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 9:54 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17055
Location: Harringay, North London
Hyronymus wrote:
The foundations of the viaduct gave in and is now half as high :shock: .


Indeed!

The master plan calls for a raised main line at various heights across the layout, but the viaduct track bed was 132mm. To allow gentle gradients over reasonable lengths, I had to consider my options.

By reducing the height to a square 100mm, I can now get down to 70mm over a 1500mm length, which allows a much shorter branch line as it now only needs to descend 70mm to the ground.

The viaduct was my first card kit so I was sad to hack it up, but it actually has come out just about alright, I think.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 2:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2200
Location: Virgo Supercluster
I'd say so. No way they'd have build that higher than absolutely necessary, which seems to be about the height you've got now. Looks great.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 3:59 pm 
Online
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: Manchester
What I'm most worried about is that giant Cat picture that the Townsfolk can see! :mrgreen:

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 9:05 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17055
Location: Harringay, North London
Yeah there's been a couple of close shaves between local traffic and a mug shaped UFO which has landed...

Thanks Pyoro - you're absolutely right. I thought long and hard about how this fits into the wider plan, I really didn't want to hack the viaduct up. But it became clear that its height right in the middle of the board was the problem, so I've taken action!

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Model Railways
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 10:56 am 
Online
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: Manchester
Dave wrote:
Yeah there's been a couple of close shaves between local traffic and a mug shaped UFO which has landed...

Let me guess, it's only ever the town drunk who sees this UFO, so everyone thinks he's just crazy? :lol:

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread

Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 923 posts ]  Go to page Previous 143 44 45 46 47 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.