Speed Test

This is the place to talk about anything not related to Transport Tycoon itself.

Moderator: General Forums Moderators

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24912
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by orudge »

2006TTD wrote:I guess I lacked knowledge regarding that, could you tell me more about the difference between static and dynamic IP?
Well, a static IP in theory shouldn't change - you should have the same IP address any time you connect to the Internet. A dynamic IP address may change (although it may stick with you for months at a time, potentially).
2006TTD wrote:I download content from Hong Kong and sometimes other parts of the world, however, I don't really know where the servers are located. Sometimes I can get up to a few hundred KB (Bytes), say 200-500 KB, when I download from foreign sites. But my experience does not match with the speedtest results, I wonder why? Server is too busy?
Well, Hong Kong has a pretty good Internet infrastructure locally as I understand it, so you should get excellent speeds there, but all your traffic to Europe, for instance, goes via America, which is a long way to go! The problem is there simply aren't great connections by land - you'd have to have connections run via China, Kazakhstan, Russia, the Ukraine, etc. Plus, you've got pretty much the entirety of Asia, Australasia, etc, trying to squeeze their bits and bytes down a handful of submarine links to the US, so it will understandably be a little slower. Have a look at Greg's Cable Map, it's quite interesting.
User avatar
2006TTD
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 05 Mar 2006 02:46
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Speed Test

Post by 2006TTD »

I see. The map is really informative. So you have been to HK, haven't you? :)
Face the fearful with no fear, and its fearfulness disappears.
User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24912
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by orudge »

I was there just two and a half weeks ago, only for about 24 hours though - was flying back to the UK from New Zealand and had a stopover. Nice place, although a bit humid for my liking!
User avatar
mrMann
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2793
Joined: 27 Oct 2006 20:38
Location: A house.
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by mrMann »

Image

This is what a thunderstorm does :D
Hmm, what should I put here...
User avatar
Jacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2386
Joined: 13 May 2011 17:11
Location: In an alternate Universe

Re: Speed Test

Post by Jacko »

wow thats shocking!

(Somebody had to do it, i was just the first one to)
"O2 is for noobs, real people breath O3" ~ said sometime by Me

All comments from me may or may not be true and do not take them word-for-word

Feel Free to join me and some other people in The Nations Game - its actually quite fun.

1000th Post at Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:43 am
2000th post at Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:22 am
User avatar
mrMann
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2793
Joined: 27 Oct 2006 20:38
Location: A house.
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by mrMann »

Indeed, a terrible pun that even I would be embarrassed to make. :lol:
Hmm, what should I put here...
User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24912
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by orudge »

From the office:

Image

It's meant to be a 100Mbps symmetric line, but quite probably folk are using it to do, y'know, actual work. ;)
User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15561
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by Chrill »

I pay for 50 through 10 so I'm happy with this:

Image
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)
User avatar
Nawdic
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3874
Joined: 28 Jan 2009 14:35
Location: Pembroke Dock
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by Nawdic »

Done my work. Piddly compared to the rest of them.

Image
Very much a retired regular poster..... If you can say that :mrgreen:
Now a moderator for a full time streamer. PM me for details.

Life is like cheese, you mature with age but don't necessarily get any sweeter :]
User avatar
Drury
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2164
Joined: 09 Dec 2008 16:20
Skype: yes
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by Drury »

I pay 400 000

Image

For 12 seconds
Image

Only dumb people quote themselves, and only the truest retards put such quotes in their forum signatures
-Drury
User avatar
Pingaware
Director
Director
Posts: 625
Joined: 03 May 2007 20:18
Location: England

Re: Speed Test

Post by Pingaware »

Truly sodding terrible. Tempted to ask my landlord to upgrade.

Image
Bad Hair Day
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3145
Joined: 22 Oct 2005 21:01
Location: Leicester - Britland

Re: Speed Test

Post by Bad Hair Day »

Image

Not bad for a village.
My OpenTTD screenshot thread.

Formerly known as Lankku.
User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Re: Speed Test

Post by White Rabbit »

Image
This is to a server in London. I still have to watch Youtube videos at 480p to avoid buffering.
Image
User avatar
Pilot
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
Posts: 7579
Joined: 04 Aug 2010 15:48
Location: Locked down in Brum

Re: Speed Test

Post by Pilot »

Image
Pretty poor I feel :(
User avatar
Nawdic
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3874
Joined: 28 Jan 2009 14:35
Location: Pembroke Dock
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by Nawdic »

And at home:

Image

Not the best, but I can stream full films without any problems.
Very much a retired regular poster..... If you can say that :mrgreen:
Now a moderator for a full time streamer. PM me for details.

Life is like cheese, you mature with age but don't necessarily get any sweeter :]
User avatar
AndersI
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1732
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 20:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by AndersI »

I'm quite disappointed with my ISP right now - this is the result after ordering a raise to 12-30MB...

Image
User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15561
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by Chrill »

Image

My workplace has a decent Internet connection.
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)
User avatar
SkeedR
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2253
Joined: 11 Jul 2004 14:55
Location: West Midlands
Contact:

Re: Speed Test

Post by SkeedR »

It might be biased as the sever is apparently hosted by Virgin, although it's good to see it's definitely ADSL;
Image
Last known as: Weirdy
Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ufan and 2 guests