Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:19 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14788 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1722 723 724 725 726740 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 12:45 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 14810
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
And here we are at my work currently upgrading everyone to Win10 because 7 is old...

_________________
Image
OpenTTD Scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91) 2016-06-23


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 5:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2577
NekoMaster wrote:
Weird thing is though, if you try to use the easy install method with VMware, VMWare thinks WE POSready 2009 is Windows Server 2003


Maybe because it is a stripped down/modified version of Windows XP, and I believe XP and Server 2003 are very close together code-wise.

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:39 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23785
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
XP is basically the client version of Server 2003; Vista was the client version of Server 2008; Server 2008 R2 was Windows 7 I believe, and Server 2012 was Windows 8. 2012 R2 was 8.1; and Server 2016 is Windows 10.

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3704
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
If anything, up until about last year many banks I've been to where running Windows XP because they where still running some command line software for banking. I imagine they finally updated all that so now they have Windows 7 on their computers.

Though like I was saying earlier, perhaps someone needs something based on Windows XP to keep their Windows XP programs and machines running.

Though make sure when you install Windows Embedded POSReady 2009, make sure to do a Custom install and install everything if you intend to use this as a proper full Windows XP machine.

Also as far as I know drivers and software still recognize POSready 2009 as Windows XP SP3. Hell even the Startup logo is still Windows XP (nothing to it)

Also if anything asks for the Windows XP CD when your installing something, the POSready 2009 CD will suffice when Windows asks for the XP CD to install say, drivers or system files.

The only issue I had while running POSReady 2009 is that not everything is easy to get for Windows XP now, gotta go look for older versions of software or even look for alternatives. I haven't used XP in so long that I've gotten use to modern software some of which may not have windows xp versions.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2577
NekoMaster wrote:
Though like I was saying earlier, perhaps someone needs something based on Windows XP to keep their Windows XP programs and machines running.

If that is the case, that someone should quickly work to remove the need for Windows XP, or if that is not possible to isolate it as much as possible. Of course you can use the Embedded until April 2019, but that should be more a temporary solution while looking for a permanent fix.

Unfortunately, IT is often a closing post for companies, and upgrading some critical software is really expensive. But even with all the paid support you can get from Microsoft, still using XP is basically a disaster waiting to happen. But maybe I do grab a copy, for my work I have to work with software that does not work on the latest version of Windows (luckily support for that piece of software is also ending in a few years so clients also have to switch), and then running such an evaluation version in a VM really helps with not polluting the host OS.

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3704
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
Well some people might be using programs, games, or hardware that only works with Windows XP but they're not a commercial buisness. Sometimes computer enthusists of different types like to keep their old machines around for certain things.

For example, I have two older machines sitting in my room that I could use for IDE drives, as the original XBOX uses IDE and thus to softmod it I need a computer with IDE and not many new motherboards include IDE (and softmodding requires onboard IDE, so it wont work with a IDE to USB or IDE expansion card)

Oh and theres also a couple of old games that I might use POSread 2009 for, Like the Windows version of SimEarth or SimCity Classic.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6017
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
There is a cash machine near me running Windows 98SE, and another running XP. Shops around here for some reason turn their machines off overnight, and reboot them in the morning when they open up, so i've managed to glimpse a few of their startup routines. The XP one is running an ancient Pentium 3 at a blisteringly fast 533MHz and 256MB RAM, the Windows 98SE one boots directly into 98SE, so it seems they've somehow managed to front-end disable the BIOS or at least the part of it that lists the specs of the system.

Of course, I'm sure the cash machine company is paying Microsoft to keep 98SE / XP updated for security updates at least, and they've not just shoved a stock copy of 98SE / XP onto them and gone "good enough!" and walk away, riiiight?

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3704
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
Redirect Left wrote:
There is a cash machine near me running Windows 98SE, and another running XP. Shops around here for some reason turn their machines off overnight, and reboot them in the morning when they open up, so i've managed to glimpse a few of their startup routines. The XP one is running an ancient Pentium 3 at a blisteringly fast 533MHz and 256MB RAM, the Windows 98SE one boots directly into 98SE, so it seems they've somehow managed to front-end disable the BIOS or at least the part of it that lists the specs of the system.

Of course, I'm sure the cash machine company is paying Microsoft to keep 98SE / XP updated for security updates at least, and they've not just shoved a stock copy of 98SE / XP onto them and gone "good enough!" and walk away, riiiight?


Possible they disabled POST because they probably know it works and when it dies they'll just replace it. Its probably a case of holding out to save money as long as possible.

Some older stores around Oshawa, Ontario like Metro and NO Frills use cash registers that run DOS or Windows 3.1

As far as I know those 16 bit Programs from the DOS area don't really play very well with newer systems but still work somewhat up to Windows XP.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:55 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23785
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Windows XP is now 16 years old (scary, eh?) - in context, 16 years before XP was released, Windows was still on version 1.0!

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3704
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
orudge wrote:
Windows XP is now 16 years old (scary, eh?) - in context, 16 years before XP was released, Windows was still on version 1.0!


Yeah I forget about that sometimes. Windows 3.0 was still before my time, as I was born 1992.

If anything, it wasn't until maybe the early 2000's I got my first computer which ran Windows 95, but my dad ended up breaking it (tried to update it to windows 98 but ended up some how deleting stuff in the WINDOWS directory)

Its only in the last 5 years I've really gotten into computers enough to actually understand some things. I just recently understood power phases on a motherboard (even though I knew about it before but didn't understand it back in 2013).

I can't wait to build my next computer, it'll be the most awesome, best, better then the rest computer to put all my previous computer builds to shame.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:38 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2577
NekoMaster wrote:
As far as I know those 16 bit Programs from the DOS area don't really play very well with newer systems but still work somewhat up to Windows XP.

I think that has a couple of reasons. Windows XP was already quite a change compared to 98/2000, and in Vista stuff was changed even more with the whole driver model getting an overhaul. And in that time 32 bit Windows was still the norm, and probably came with a 16 bit emulator, but after XP that changed. Vista was the first to have a 64 bit release aimed at consumers, and in recent years the change to 64 bit has been completed. And they come without 16 bit emulators, so that those programs don't play very well with newer systems is not that strange.

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:36 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17034
Location: Harringay, North London
Transportman wrote:
Unfortunately, IT is often a closing post for companies, and upgrading some critical software is really expensive. But even with all the paid support you can get from Microsoft, still using XP is basically a disaster waiting to happen. But maybe I do grab a copy, for my work I have to work with software that does not work on the latest version of Windows (luckily support for that piece of software is also ending in a few years so clients also have to switch), and then running such an evaluation version in a VM really helps with not polluting the host OS.


Maybe you could advise the UK government of that...

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:43 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 927
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
FWIW, all of the few computers I saw in Cuba were running XP - most of them certainly off any kind of network.

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:15 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3704
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
supermop wrote:
FWIW, all of the few computers I saw in Cuba were running XP - most of them certainly off any kind of network.


Cuba has computers?

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:47 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:20 pm
Posts: 2073
Skype: yes
Location: Slovakia
NekoMaster wrote:
supermop wrote:
FWIW, all of the few computers I saw in Cuba were running XP - most of them certainly off any kind of network.


Cuba has computers?

what is computer

_________________
Image

Only dumb people quote themselves, and only the truest retards put such quotes in their forum signatures
-Drury


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 14810
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
We have something called "floskel" in Sweden, which is basically a quote full of clichees and "empty words". These are fantastic quotes meaning absolutely nothing, or simply stupid errors people have said. Such as...:

"The greens are so fast that the ball won't come to a halt until it stops"
- Swedish golf commentary Göran Zachrisson

"The police consider this a serious occurance"
- Swedish Tv3 police show commenting on a triple homicide. No s*** Sherlock!

"The hockey pro tells all about the incident: I remember nothing"
Swedish newspaper headline from Expressen


Great stuff bro.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD Scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91) 2016-06-23


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:48 pm
Posts: 7196
Location: Manchester
I swear all the Swedes do is take the mick out of each other. :mrgreen:

_________________
POTM August 2012 Joint Winner
My Screenshot Thread

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6017
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Hopefully they'll remember to do that at Eurovision, might keep them outside the top 5 for once :p

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11834
Location: MK UK
Chrill wrote:
We have something called "floskel" in Sweden, which is basically a quote full of clichees and "empty words". These are fantastic quotes meaning absolutely nothing, or simply stupid errors people have said. Such as...:

"The greens are so fast that the ball won't come to a halt until it stops"
- Swedish golf commentary Göran Zachrisson

"The police consider this a serious occurance"
- Swedish Tv3 police show commenting on a triple homicide. No s*** Sherlock!

"The hockey pro tells all about the incident: I remember nothing"
Swedish newspaper headline from Expressen


Great stuff bro.


Private Eye readers in the UK will know these as "Coleman Balls"

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3704
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
I dunno whats worse, when the Media screws up their broadcasts (wrong information, mistakes, typos, etc) or when they lie or hide the full truth from people.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14788 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1722 723 724 725 726740 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.