[TTDX Configurator news topic]

Get help, info, news and advice about the Transport Tycoon Deluxe patch.

Moderator: TTDPatch Moderators

Flamelord
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 731
Joined: 24 Mar 2005 22:29
Location: Oregon

Post by Flamelord » 21 Aug 2006 01:39

Escape does not mean quit, has never meant quit, should never mean quit. It's bad programming to use the escape key as a "quit" button. That's what alt-F4 is for.
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub

User avatar
Csaboka
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1202
Joined: 25 Nov 2002 16:30
Location: Tiszavasvári, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Csaboka » 21 Aug 2006 03:49

Simulating user input isn't a very roboust solution, regardless of what you simulate. TTDPatch already has a -!w debug switch to suppress "press any key" messages. I don't know what exactly the version detection needs, but you can use -!w- to continue after any warnings, or -!w+ to quit when the first warning is encountered.
Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.—Philip K. Dick

User avatar
Andrex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1308
Joined: 22 Nov 2002 05:08
Contact:

Post by Andrex » 21 Aug 2006 07:41

Esc is only sent to very old TTDP versions, and remember TTDXC requires 2.0 or later. Anyway, I didn't know such -!w+ param was supported in old versions, so I'll use it in next version.

Regarding the GRF updater, it propmpts to download new graphics only when a new TTDPatch version with new graphics is installed for the first time. Then it assumes the GRFs are already installed, it wont prompt to download sames files again and again when reinstalling any TTDP version.

User avatar
krtaylor
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11773
Joined: 07 Feb 2003 01:58
Location: Washington DC, USA
Contact:

Post by krtaylor » 21 Aug 2006 23:33

Yes, but, if you are jumping up several versions, it doesn't prompt you to do the necessary upgrades, and if you do it manually, there's no indication that it was successful (e.g. by a checkmark next to it, to show that you are already up to snuff.)
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there

User avatar
Andrex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1308
Joined: 22 Nov 2002 05:08
Contact:

Post by Andrex » 28 Aug 2006 02:33

Csaboka wrote:Simulating user input isn't a very roboust solution, regardless of what you simulate. TTDPatch already has a -!w debug switch to suppress "press any key" messages. I don't know what exactly the version detection needs, but you can use -!w- to continue after any warnings, or -!w+ to quit when the first warning is encountered.
Too bad that switch doesn't work on versions 1.9.x... now I remember I tried that before without success. :? Actually no command line switch worked on most 1.9 versions.

User avatar
Wile E. Coyote
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8514
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 22:14
Skype: wile.e.coyote2
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Post by Wile E. Coyote » 28 Aug 2006 07:07

I know it's OT, but is it any chance for new NFO editor version?
Serbian rail set with Serbian scenario (ECS, PBI, FIRS and Tourist set compatible) Website | Topic and download | Latest version: 03.06.2015.
Serbian tram set Tracking table | TTD Patch tram set Latest version: 17.06.2015. | Open TTD Remix Latest version: 11.07.2015.
WIN-DOS GRF Converter Topic and download | Version 0.2.1: 09.01.2005.


Runner-up in "Best avatar Forums award" for years 2006 and 2010!

User avatar
Andrex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1308
Joined: 22 Nov 2002 05:08
Contact:

Post by Andrex » 28 Aug 2006 16:22

Not from me at least.

I provided the entire NFO Editor source code to orudge (over 2 years ago), because he wanted to integrate it to his GRF editor program, but I never knew what happened with that project, so ask Owen about that.

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24027
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge » 04 Sep 2006 18:31

I did do some work on it, however, my GRF Editor itself was abandoned. I'm not sure if I did any work of significance on NFO Editor, I may poke through it sometime if somebody reminds me in the future.

User avatar
Andrex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1308
Joined: 22 Nov 2002 05:08
Contact:

Post by Andrex » 05 Sep 2006 17:59

Here's a screenshot from version 2.8.5, now with all alpha/beta switches joined with the rest of the switches, in categories retrieved from the XML file when possible. The additional switches tab is gone.

TTDXC no longer provides switch info at all, therefore an XML from version 2.0 rev 1 will be downloaded for TTDP versions with no XML support. All switches up to 2.5 beta 8 are now shown with proper names, but I need some translations before releasing this version.
Attachments
ttdxc285.gif
Misc category tab
ttdxc285.gif (40.85 KiB) Viewed 6848 times

MJS
Director
Director
Posts: 539
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 09:31

Post by MJS » 08 Sep 2006 21:26

The selectgoods switch now allows only values from 2 upwards, and not just "selectgoods", as it did before. That's quite a pity, I feel. (See details at http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... &pagenum=1.)

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 08 Sep 2006 21:57

But setting it to "2" is the same as setting it to "on" in 2.0. And setting it to "on" now is almost the same, except better.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

MJS
Director
Director
Posts: 539
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 09:31

Post by MJS » 09 Sep 2006 18:39

Ah. Then there's something I don't understand. I had it set to 2 in the savegame I posted elsewhere, and then I had unsollicited cargo coming up at my stations. Did I do something wrong, then? Because it wasn't like that before - nothing would turn up at a station if no train had passed by.

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 09 Sep 2006 21:00

This should really be split off from this topic here, but in the .cfg you posted earlier, the switch was set to "off", not "2".
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

MJS
Director
Director
Posts: 539
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 09:31

Post by MJS » 11 Sep 2006 20:12

Sorry, you're quite right. Then all I have to report is that it's fixed. Thanks for your help!

User avatar
boneyman
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 12 Sep 2006 11:02
Location: Australia mate

Post by boneyman » 15 Sep 2006 23:05

Where can i download that file?

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6577
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Post by Redirect Left » 15 Sep 2006 23:16


User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6577
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Post by Redirect Left » 17 Sep 2006 11:57

Andrex, i believe i may be having a slight hitch with your program, please check this thread for info, specifically Csaboka's post :)
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

User avatar
lobster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5645
Joined: 21 Dec 2003 23:30
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Contact:

Post by lobster » 19 Sep 2006 19:23

hmm, the configurator just updated itself from 2.8.0 to... 2.8.0. or so i think. anyhoo.
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6577
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Post by Redirect Left » 19 Sep 2006 20:26

Mind did too, said it was 2.8.0 to 2.8.5, but it still says 2.8.0 on the top? :?
Last edited by Redirect Left on 19 Sep 2006 21:49, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

User avatar
lobster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5645
Joined: 21 Dec 2003 23:30
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Contact:

Post by lobster » 19 Sep 2006 21:42

yes, indeed. although odd, i'm still patiently awaiting 2.8.5 anyway, so no big deal.
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster

Post Reply

Return to “General TTDPatch”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests