Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:10 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 539 posts ]  Go to page Previous 123 24 25 26 27 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:42 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17055
Location: Harringay, North London
DaleStan wrote:
Any idea why there in there ... ?


And thus we find a flaw in a great man.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:14 pm
Posts: 8507
Skype: wile.e.coyote2
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Andrex wrote:
Note that allowing this version to update itselft will return it to current 2.8.5 version. The next public version will be 2.8.7.
It doesn't update back to 2.8.5 for me.

_________________
Serbian rail set with Serbian scenario (ECS, PBI, FIRS and Tourist set compatible) Website | Topic and download | Latest version: 03.06.2015.
Serbian tram set Tracking table | TTD Patch tram set Latest version: 17.06.2015. | Open TTD Remix Latest version: 11.07.2015.
WIN-DOS GRF Converter Topic and download | Version 0.2.1: 09.01.2005.


Runner-up in "Best avatar Forums award" for years 2006 and 2010!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 5:08 am
Posts: 1298
DaleStan wrote:
I went to test TTDXC 2.8.6 -- I put it in my TTD folder, and ran it, and it quite helpfully said "Unable to create switches.xml info file. TTDXC will download the info file for TTDPatch 2.0 rev 1 now."

I'm not quite sure what it's smoking there, because it didn't even *try* to start ttdpatchw.exe (I know this because my firewall allerts me when unknown programs try to start other programs.) Had it done so, TTDPatch would have done as TTDXC requested, and generated a proper XML file. (This was verified by running ttdpatchw -!S- from a command line.)

If I manually generate switches.xml, TTDXC deletes it and then reports that switches.xml couldn't be generated, as above.

The ttdpatchw.exe in my folder, as reported by -!T-, is "TTDPatch V2.6 alpha 0 r1141mod (Windows)".

The same basic problem is exhibited with my local 2.5 build. (version "TTDPatch V2.5 beta 8 r1135mod (Windows)")


That's related to a version detection problem. You didn't mention how does TTDXC detect your TTDP version at all, that would be helpful.

If TTDXC does not create the XML, it's because the TTDP exe filesize corresponds to an old version without XML, and therefore it will download the one for 2.0 rev 1 for backwards compatibility. Now, I recently changed the function that retrieves file sizes with one native VB function, it seems that wasn't a good idea.

Here I attach a new TTDXC 2.8.6 version which uses the system's GetFileSize API to query file size. Also, the existant switches.xml won't be deleted it TTDXC cannot run the version detection, so switches will be created using the local XML even if version detection fails.

Wile E. Coyote wrote:
It doesn't update back to 2.8.5 for me.


Oh.
That's all I can say based on the extensive info your provided. I won't start with the correct bug report speech, but you could at least mention what the heck happened when you received the new version notification after Live Update.

_________________
OpenTTD Manager | TTDX Configurator | GRF Wizard | NFO Editor | More TTD tools...


Last edited by Andrex on Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:07 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
Andrex wrote:
If TTDXC does not create the XML, it's because the TTDP exe filesize corresponds to an old version without XML,

Oh. Then using GetFileSize won't work either; my local builds are all in the 300KB range (+/- 15KB, depending on DOS vs Win and how much version information is included), because I've configured the build process to compile the minimum of language data.

There's probably an API somewhere for reading the PE header; checking that would be substantially more reliable than checking size for the Windows version, but it would be useless for the DOS version.
For both versions, it should be possible to read the attachments and use that information:
1) If a lOADcODE attachment appears, this is a recent version, generate the XML
2) Otherwise, read the pROTcODE attachment and use the protcode size to determine whether or not to generate the XML.
Procedure: Read the dword immediately following the pROTcODE tag (in 2.0r1 DOS, that's 252 (dec) at offset 0x285C3), add four, skip that many bytes (counting from the end of the just-read dword), and read the following dword (in 2.0r1 DOS, that's 65579 (dec) at offset 0x286C7. In 2.0r1 Win, those values are 404 at 0x281C3 and 67535 at 0x2835F.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 1732
Location: Sweden
What about starting TTDPACH with the v+ switch? And fall back to the file size variant if v+ doesn't produce the expected response?

_________________
Image
Swedish trains * Swedish Town Names * BlockCAD * The GRFMaker Community Page


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:41 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
Actually, I would think -!T+ would be more interesting.

I expect these are of interest: Clean builds of trunk, except with my changes to omit the non-English strings. (Using lang/english.exe to generate language.dat, instead of makelang.exe)


Attachments:
ttdpatch.rar [531.16 KiB]
Downloaded 249 times

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
AndersI wrote:
What about starting TTDPACH with the v+ switch? And fall back to the file size variant if v+ doesn't produce the expected response?


DaleStan wrote:
Actually, I would think -!T+ would be more interesting.


On versions which don't support them this would cause TTDPatch to start up normally (waiting for a key and/or going directly to TTD), which is probably not an acceptable behaviour.

_________________
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 5:08 am
Posts: 1298
That's why I used the file size trick. Using the PE header is very complex with VB, but I could add an option to force the creation of the XML for cases like that.

_________________
OpenTTD Manager | TTDX Configurator | GRF Wizard | NFO Editor | More TTD tools...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:14 pm
Posts: 8507
Skype: wile.e.coyote2
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Andrex wrote:
Wile E. Coyote wrote:
It doesn't update back to 2.8.5 for me.


Oh.
That's all I can say based on the extensive info your provided. I won't start with the correct bug report speech, but you could at least mention what the heck happened when you received the new version notification after Live Update.
Sorry.
I downloaded and installed TTDXC 2.8.6. I ran Live update, it ran correct checking all servers, and it didn't reported me there is new version available. If I understood you correct, it should report there is new TTDXC version available: 2.8.5?

_________________
Serbian rail set with Serbian scenario (ECS, PBI, FIRS and Tourist set compatible) Website | Topic and download | Latest version: 03.06.2015.
Serbian tram set Tracking table | TTD Patch tram set Latest version: 17.06.2015. | Open TTD Remix Latest version: 11.07.2015.
WIN-DOS GRF Converter Topic and download | Version 0.2.1: 09.01.2005.


Runner-up in "Best avatar Forums award" for years 2006 and 2010!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:31 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 31
Update to version 2.8.5 lets my virusscan stop the proces.
He finds a trojanhorse malware in one of the files and breaks the installation.

Is the file infected or do i have to cirkel around my scanner?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 5:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 5:08 am
Posts: 1298
Whatever version other than 2.8.5 should update to this one, because it's the one on the server. And my updated Kaspersky AV never complained on it, so it's virus-free guaranteed.

_________________
OpenTTD Manager | TTDX Configurator | GRF Wizard | NFO Editor | More TTD tools...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:26 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
AVG also agrees that the 2.8.5 is clean.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:10 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 8:48 pm
Posts: 31
Ok thx good to hear. :D
Gonna do it by going round my virus scan.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:41 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 2:53 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Shoplandia
AVG have no problem with configurator 2.8.6., too.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 6:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 5:08 am
Posts: 1298
TTDXC 2.8.7 has been released. The changelog is here as usual. For bug reports, please provide as much info as you can, including TTDP version, operating system, local weather, and so on.

_________________
OpenTTD Manager | TTDX Configurator | GRF Wizard | NFO Editor | More TTD tools...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:22 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 2:53 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Shoplandia
I found very small bug in 2.8.7 version, i saw this bug first in version 2.8.6
Image

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:23 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
that isnt a problem with ttdxc, its a problem with the patch/ttdpbase.grf

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:01 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:42 pm
Posts: 40
I have an interesting problem with TTDXC 2.8.7. I have just downloaded the latest file from the TTDXC webstie and installed on a new computer (no previous TTDXC was installed). When TTDXC is running, all the screen text is english but when I mouse over the settings, the info text in the status window is spanish. If I change the TTDXC language (say to french), I get french text but the status bar info text is still spanish? Also, when I click on an option which has a popup window (like plant more trees) the popup options are in spanish.


Attachments:
File comment: English and Spanish !!
screen2.JPG
screen2.JPG [ 66.41 KiB | Viewed 4755 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
The language of the switches and their descriptions is what TTDPatch determines to be your system language, since they're the output of TTDPatch.

Unless TTDXC instructs TTDPatch to write them in a different language; I don't know if it does that.

_________________
Josef Drexler



TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker

No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 5:08 am
Posts: 1298
Patchman wrote:
The language of the switches and their descriptions is what TTDPatch determines to be your system language, since they're the output of TTDPatch.


That does not apply for his version, TTDPatch 2.0 rev 1, because it doesn't have XML data.

Since TTDXC requires an XML mandatorily to work, I provided an XML with 2.0 rev 1 switches to use with versions without XML support. But I didn't notice that I was using the spanish file.

I have just uploaded the file in english. Go to your windows\temp\ttdxc folder and delete 20rev1.xml. Start TTDXC and it will retrieve the new XML in english.

_________________
OpenTTD Manager | TTDX Configurator | GRF Wizard | NFO Editor | More TTD tools...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 539 posts ]  Go to page Previous 123 24 25 26 27 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.