TTD Patch is Dead- Long Live OpenTTD?

Get help, info, news and advice about the Transport Tycoon Deluxe patch.

Moderator: TTDPatch Moderators

MegaStationMan
Engineer
Engineer

TTD Patch is Dead- Long Live OpenTTD?

Post by MegaStationMan »

So, ive been playing the patch for over 8 years. It has been a long an happy time, but have now moved over to openTTD. Do people here think it would be better to have any developers still around on the patch putting efforts into openTTD to bring in the final features missing from openTTD (programmable signals, routing restrictions, custom bridgheads and build on tunnels?)

I had a long a happy time playing the patch, but its been 3 weeks since the last post here and over a week since the last nightly (shouldnt that be weekly/fortnightly now?). Are the last hangers on just treating it as a hobby project for their own personal satisfaction?
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Re: TTD Patch is Dead- Long Live OpenTTD?

Post by planetmaker »

MegaStationMan wrote:Are the (...) (people) just treating it as a hobby project for their own personal satisfaction?
Same is true for OpenTTD.

Besides http://svn.ttdpatch.net/trac/timeline?f ... ate=Update gives me changes just today and like beginning of September. Further anyone willing to give any of those things you mention a decent glitch-free trial in OpenTTD is welcome to do so. But that has been the case before, too. Signals and Route markers might both not be the solution to the problem they try to solve though: different trains going different directions under <whatever> condition; that might need more thorough consideration and thoughts.
Rubidium
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Post by Rubidium »

MegaStationMan wrote:shouldnt that be weekly/fortnightly now?
No, OpenTTD compile farm can't handle that. Yes, OpenTTD's compile farm builds TTDPatch's nightlies as well.