Trams! (Work In Progress)

Get help, info, news and advice about the Transport Tycoon Deluxe patch.

Moderator: TTDPatch Moderators

User avatar
Caelan
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 412
Joined: 23 Dec 2005 12:56
Location: Haarlem, Netherlands

Post by Caelan » 31 Jan 2006 10:46

i just ment by graphical 'errors' that you dont see them indeed. WIll that be corrected?

I am looking forward to your progress!

Let me see if i can design a bit myself...thanks for the update

MJS
Director
Director
Posts: 539
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 09:31

Post by MJS » 01 Feb 2006 20:11

It's a known fact that towns treat tram tracks just as normal roads, which is fine in most cases - they build houses next to the tracks. But that seems to include towns trying to attach road branches to tram tracks too... Stevenh, any chance this might be fixed?
Attachments
SCR32.png
SCR32.png (12.85 KiB) Viewed 5439 times

User avatar
stevenh
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 759
Joined: 24 Jul 2005 05:07
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Post by stevenh » 01 Feb 2006 21:07

Yah, Worked that out already 8)
Just getting bridges to work properly and then you might just get another alpha from patchman.

jebartle
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 88
Joined: 19 May 2003 22:37

Post by jebartle » 01 Feb 2006 23:08

Great Work! Glad you let us use it as it develops. Looking forward to the future releases.

JEB
Author of GRFreader and NFOalter

User avatar
stevenh
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 759
Joined: 24 Jul 2005 05:07
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Post by stevenh » 02 Feb 2006 08:26

Latest and greatest...
still clipping issues with the poles on bridges... but apart from that... she looks a million bucks.

and i need to remove the road from the bridges....
Attachments
bridges2.png
bridges2.png (128.55 KiB) Viewed 5336 times

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2753
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Post by Aegir » 02 Feb 2006 08:46

Oooh, yeah, she DOES look a million bucks! :D

Nice stuff, Stevenh, nice.
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!

User avatar
Caelan
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 412
Joined: 23 Dec 2005 12:56
Location: Haarlem, Netherlands

Post by Caelan » 02 Feb 2006 12:46

This looks awesome! Is this going to be available? I love it already!

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 02 Feb 2006 15:58

stevenh wrote:and i need to remove the road from the bridges....
You can't remove the road, I'm afraid. It's built into the bridge sprites.

That'll have to wait for the "newroutes" feature. So for now, just make sure that normal road vehicles can always enter all road bridges, even if technically it should only be a tram bridge.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

User avatar
stevenh
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 759
Joined: 24 Jul 2005 05:07
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Post by stevenh » 02 Feb 2006 22:16

I used a special technique perfected by Australians; Why build fresh, when you can just risk the bridge structure and layer crap on top.

The results are as follows:
Attachments
Wh00t
Wh00t
bridges3.png (69.32 KiB) Viewed 5187 times
Last edited by stevenh on 02 Feb 2006 22:20, edited 1 time in total.

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2753
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Post by Aegir » 02 Feb 2006 22:19

Excellent!
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK » 03 Feb 2006 01:59

Awesome!!!! Can't wait to use this

RK
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 264
Joined: 13 Oct 2003 10:43
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Post by RK » 03 Feb 2006 14:12

hehe you are a genius. :shock:

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Post by WWTBAM » 04 Feb 2006 06:22

espesialy trying to do things patchman says you cant do that you can.

User avatar
stevenh
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 759
Joined: 24 Jul 2005 05:07
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Post by stevenh » 04 Feb 2006 06:23

No no, patchman was correct. I just did it a way that isn't as efficient.

User avatar
Darkvater
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3053
Joined: 24 Feb 2003 18:45
Location: Hong Kong

Post by Darkvater » 04 Feb 2006 10:21

I must say those tracks look beautiful, although I fail to see their real-life application in no-whereland with all the tunnels/bridges :P

MJS has a picture at top of this page with 'sleeping-beds', 'gas-stations', what are those?
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Post by WWTBAM » 04 Feb 2006 10:28

firstly that pic is to show all the work and secondly mjs' pic. He has the turist and petrol grf which alows you to have industries and the apropriate townbuildings to accept and create them. They require the ttdpatch newcargoes switch.

MJS
Director
Director
Posts: 539
Joined: 28 Jul 2005 09:31

Post by MJS » 07 Feb 2006 11:12

Should I start a new game to get the new tram tracks on bridges to work? (I wouldn't mind, really - they look wonderful!)

And...ehm...well, when I build a new tram bridge in my old game (after having disabled the New Bridges grf :( ) I got this weird result you see on the second bridge from the top, left ramp.
Attachments
SCR34.png
SCR34.png (29.1 KiB) Viewed 4706 times

User avatar
stevenh
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 759
Joined: 24 Jul 2005 05:07
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Post by stevenh » 07 Feb 2006 11:20

bug no. 1: build on slopes vs. bridge endings.

it's buildonslopes killing my tram tracks...

you'll notice that the 'slope' of your bridge is on uneven land.. but buildonslopes has provided you a foundation... which hates my bridges.
damnit.!.!!!!.

User avatar
coalroads artist
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 254
Joined: 29 Oct 2004 05:49
Location: Australia

Post by coalroads artist » 10 Feb 2006 04:07

I have to say, after being away for a month and coming back to find this is unreal.The impossible (so was thought) is possible :o .Brillant work :D :shock:
Image
Original AUSSET graphics artist.
-Mr squiggle was my mentor!
Tracking table-Ausset

Post Reply

Return to “General TTDPatch”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests