Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 11:49 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2002 3:52 pm 
Greetings knowledgable people!
I got hold of a RAR compressed TTD, unrarred it (is that the term? ;)) and can't get the game to work. When I try to run one of the game files (English.exe or whatever) it says that the game isn't installed properly. And when I run either setup executable I get an error saying that the file is in use (duh!) Any advice would be much appreciated...
Thanks!
Chris


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2002 6:37 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
yes, it can be difficult at times

i think i had the same problem, a zip file with a rar file in it !!!
so , you un-rar-zip what is in it and then you get a directory with a setup.exe
you run this one next
he asks for the version: english-frech-american,...
this is all you have to do !

If you want another version, just mail me, then we can go over it step by step

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2002 6:37 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23884
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
How big is your SETUP.EXE file? The version I have is 42,496 bytes, and works fine.

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2002 6:38 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23884
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Well look at that... we both posted a message in the same minute. ;)

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2002 6:39 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
orudge wrote:
How big is your SETUP.EXE file? The version I have is 42,496 bytes, and works fine.


hey Owen, mine was the same !

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2002 6:40 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
orudge wrote:
Well look at that... we both posted a message in the same minute. ;)

i know, and this one possibly too !

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
 Post subject: Thanks! But...
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:30 pm 
I get an error 'cannot read registry'. ???

Please help! I'm getting excited now...

Chris


Top
   
 Post subject: So many questions...
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:33 pm 
Heh....
I opened regedit and double clicked on each item in TTDX area. Now I get a CD read error! D'oh!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:04 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
If you get a message saying "Unable to access Transport Tycoon Deluxe CD! $", you forgot to tell TTDPatch to apply the Windows 2000 patches (either run "ttdpatchw -2" or put "win2k on" in the configuration file

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:05 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
Error Reading Registry
Go to Start, Run and Type regedt32 (Not regedit). Find
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\FISH Technology Group\Transport Tycoon Deluxe\HDPath and double click it. Then simply click OK. Don't make any changes. Try again

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:48 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23884
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Yes, go and get TTDPatch 1.9 from http://www.ttdpatch.com/beta/ and run ttdpatchw -2 (or put win2k on in the ttdpatch.cfg file).

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
 Post subject: :D
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:27 pm 
Thank you both. It works!!! Hooray!

Chris


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:24 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
hip hip hooray, another pleased customer :D

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:27 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23884
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
If I had a penny for every satisfied customer of Owen Computer Services™ Technical Support, I'd be a rich man! :mrgreen:

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.