Help! Can't make TTD(Win) work on XP

Old messages from the Transport Tycoon forum at owenrudge.net.
Locked
Chris Hillcoat

Help! Can't make TTD(Win) work on XP

Post by Chris Hillcoat »

Greetings knowledgable people!
I got hold of a RAR compressed TTD, unrarred it (is that the term? ;)) and can't get the game to work. When I try to run one of the game files (English.exe or whatever) it says that the game isn't installed properly. And when I run either setup executable I get an error saying that the file is in use (duh!) Any advice would be much appreciated...
Thanks!
Chris

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20663
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff »

yes, it can be difficult at times

i think i had the same problem, a zip file with a rar file in it !!!
so , you un-rar-zip what is in it and then you get a directory with a setup.exe
you run this one next
he asks for the version: english-frech-american,...
this is all you have to do !

If you want another version, just mail me, then we can go over it step by step
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24836
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge »

How big is your SETUP.EXE file? The version I have is 42,496 bytes, and works fine.

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24836
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge »

Well look at that... we both posted a message in the same minute. ;)

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20663
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff »

orudge wrote:How big is your SETUP.EXE file? The version I have is 42,496 bytes, and works fine.
hey Owen, mine was the same !
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20663
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff »

orudge wrote:Well look at that... we both posted a message in the same minute. ;)
i know, and this one possibly too !
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

Chris Hillcoat

Thanks! But...

Post by Chris Hillcoat »

I get an error 'cannot read registry'. ???

Please help! I'm getting excited now...

Chris

Chris Hillcoat

So many questions...

Post by Chris Hillcoat »

Heh....
I opened regedit and double clicked on each item in TTDX area. Now I get a CD read error! D'oh!

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20663
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff »

If you get a message saying "Unable to access Transport Tycoon Deluxe CD! $", you forgot to tell TTDPatch to apply the Windows 2000 patches (either run "ttdpatchw -2" or put "win2k on" in the configuration file
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20663
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff »

Error Reading Registry
Go to Start, Run and Type regedt32 (Not regedit). Find
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\FISH Technology Group\Transport Tycoon Deluxe\HDPath and double click it. Then simply click OK. Don't make any changes. Try again
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24836
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge »

Yes, go and get TTDPatch 1.9 from http://www.ttdpatch.com/beta/ and run ttdpatchw -2 (or put win2k on in the ttdpatch.cfg file).

Chris Hillcoat

:D

Post by Chris Hillcoat »

Thank you both. It works!!! Hooray!

Chris

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20663
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff »

hip hip hooray, another pleased customer :D
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24836
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge »

If I had a penny for every satisfied customer of Owen Computer Services™ Technical Support, I'd be a rich man! :mrgreen:

Locked

Return to “Owen's TT Station Forum (Archived Posts)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests