Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:48 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2002 2:09 pm 
hi,

me and my brother both have XP, and with the new patch, the game runs fiin in multi player!!!

untill, for some reason only on my PC, when i try and select any vehicle from the over view menu thingy, in the box where the little view appears of the vehicle... there is no image! there's ajust a big gray square.... and then the game freezes saying that "TTDLOADW.OVL needs to be closed" and the game freezes and quits....

But! if i click on the vehicle when it's on the screen normally, it comes it fine.... and everything works fine on my single player games....

ne suggestions on how to fix it?

-Chud


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 21, 2002 9:31 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
Hi,
this is a known issue
look at the patch manual
Note that under Windows 2000/XP, the game will crash or lock up if
one of the player buys a vehicles that is not a railroad vehicle, and
if some other circumstances. This probably because of changes in
DirectPlay that makes TTD incompatible with these operating systems.


_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2002 8:44 am 
spaceman spiff wrote:
Hi,
this is a known issue
look at the patch manual
Note that under Windows 2000/XP, the game will crash or lock up if
one of the player buys a vehicles that is not a railroad vehicle, and
if some other circumstances. This probably because of changes in
DirectPlay that makes TTD incompatible with these operating systems.



ah, but the new patch from ttdpatch.com has fixed that, and we can allready build all the vehicles.... my problem is viewing the vehicles cause the view window doesn't appear.... then the game freezes....
i just wanna know if ne one has a solution for it...

-Chud


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2002 2:57 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23884
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Multiplayer with TTD is notoriously unstable. TTD Windows version is even worse, and TTD + TTDPatch can cause even more problems. Apart from rewriting the game, there's not much that can be done right now. Maybe Josef will be able to solve some problems, but it'll be hard work.

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2002 5:51 pm 
well, ne help is appriciated :)

but u dont have to fix it.... u COULD break it.... in which case just disable the window so it won't freeze as it has nothing to load....

but that's just in my way of thinking.....

-Chud


Top
   
 Post subject: what does he mean??
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2002 12:20 am 
Chud wrote:
well, ne help is appriciated :)

but u dont have to fix it.... u COULD break it.... in which case just disable the window so it won't freeze as it has nothing to load....

but that's just in my way of thinking.....

-Chud



im having the same problem... what does he mean break it by disabling the window?? how do you disable it?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.