Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:47 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:51 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:01 am
Posts: 4
I wasn't sure if you guys were aware but gamermasterhellish on YouTube has several series related to OpenTTD.

There is his tutorial series.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLX9TPVcxrORP8EOLYBgnhzxK6VbncNil7

His Let's Play series, series 1:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26uYnIf ... B-2l-wDXUj

His Let's Play series, series 2:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avX3hAU ... kGpz7IsWth

His Let's Play series, series 3:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBieJT4 ... 7KCN62dzPi

His Let's Play series, series 4:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4En2LS ... ZYJKLZ0rLS

His Spotlight videos:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5Mkm4j ... WxAXUT_h5O


There are several more playlist series he has and this is one of his series that he mostly updates.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:47 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 7:05 pm
Posts: 226
I prefer ZestHuskyPlays when it comes to OpenTTD videos however, he hasn't uploaded in almost a year.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:06 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:01 am
Posts: 4
I looked at a couple of his and while they're similar in demonstration aspects but the saving factor for Master Hellish is that he has a continuing series and is very active and continues to plan to be active. :)

I'm definitely going to check out more of this ZestHusky though. :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:14 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 14690
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
This looks an awful lot like advertising, seeing as your email address is Master Hellish. Amirite? :mrgreen:

_________________
Image
OpenTTD Scenarios:
ArchipiƩlago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91) 2016-06-23


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:33 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:01 am
Posts: 4
He's a friend of mine and I am sharing his work but if it's not okay to post here, then I'll be more than happy to take it down? I just thought it might be of use to some people on this forum specifically.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:35 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:01 am
Posts: 4
Also - to note - I am actually still learning how to play this game and he is the reason I have been able to. So I thought if he helped me why not see if he helps other people?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:04 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:30 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Luxembourg
I subbed grandmasterhellish a long time ago, really cool guy, I can just +1 his work.

he's not a friend of mine :P


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
I thought Master Hellish already had an account here, anyhow? If so, he should use it more for advertisement. :)

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1161
Is Hellish correct that ISR is not compatible with ZBase?

And if activated,does ISR replace all station options or just freight station options?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
As with most NewGRFs, ISR will replace the stations of the default base set.

If by "compatible", are you asking if they work together? Yes, there are no technical conflicts between the two.

If by "compatible", are you asking if they look nice together? Absolutely not. ISR is 8 bpp hand-drawn graphics, zBase is 32 bpp machine drawn graphics.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 7:26 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:04 pm
Posts: 62
Do station NewGRFs replace anything at all? As far as I can tell they just add more stations to the default ones.

Also, I believe the game doesn't distinguish between freight stations and other kinds, the only differences are eye candy. Nothing stops you from using a freight station for PAX (although some stations that show the amount of cargo in transit might take notice).


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:46 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 865
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
kamnet wrote:
As with most NewGRFs, ISR will replace the stations of the default base set.

If by "compatible", are you asking if they work together? Yes, there are no technical conflicts between the two.

If by "compatible", are you asking if they look nice together? Absolutely not. ISR is 8 bpp hand-drawn graphics, zBase is 32 bpp machine drawn graphics.


Actually ISR does not replace the default stations. It is possible for a station NewGRF to replace the default station graphics, but to my knowledge, no station set actually uses this option - certainly none that I have used. Generally, the amount of possible station types is not small enough to be worth overwriting the default types for most authors - people generally like having the default ones even if they rarely use them.

The two cases where could think it would be preferable to overwrite the default station would be 1) a small OGFX+ type NewGRF with the purpose of making a small incremental improvement to the default station (such as retaining the default sprites but adding waiting people or cargo etc), or, 2) a set that finds the default stations are simply far, far, to incongruous in style from other graphics added. (However, in that case, it is likely that the rest of the base set will also look out of place. I feel this is one reason why 32bpp NewGRF development has sort of stalled - without a matching base set, a NewGRF that looks too different appears sort of out of place)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 5:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5535
Location: Eastern KY
supermop wrote:
Actually ISR does not replace the default stations.


Now that I think about it, you're right! Shows you how often I use default stations. ;)

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 7:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1161
Since,to this point,I have ONLY used default stations,I am cautious in augmenting and would rather not replace them.Hellish noted in the S4 intro that the ISR stations clashed with the zBase he usually used and therefore he was going with standard graphics,but I did switch to zBase a while ago because the 8bpp world looks painfully CGA-ish when zoomed in high resolution.

PikkaBird seems to have closed his pineapple farm after his crowdfunding effort fell short,is there no diverse station set in 32bpp?
It would be great to have OpenTTD look more like Mashinky.More ability to design one's stations and facilities would be a plus.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.