Why is no AI is so important?

Discuss the new AI features ("NoAI") introduced into OpenTTD 0.7, allowing you to implement custom AIs, and the new Game Scripts available in OpenTTD 1.2 and higher.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

shahanangelo
Engineer
Engineer

Why is no AI is so important?

Post by shahanangelo »

Why this self created AIs are so important? I am not a programmer but a grate fan of TTD the new attempts for rebuilding TTD makes me happy in a sense that now it has more features that I never experienced before. The major problem with this open TTD version "stable (0.7.0)" there is no default AIs and I didn't have the slightest idea about what to do. Now can anybody please tell me what can I do about this. I can't just except playing with nor dead nor alive AIs. I am not a programmer, so can any body have any kind of solution for this? :(
ever
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Re: Why is no AI is so important?

Post by ever »

Go to donwloadable content, download an AI.

Play.

None of them are really stable at the moment though
Timmaexx
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Post by Timmaexx »

Or load an older version of OpenTTD for example 0.6.3 the last stable release with old dummy AI!
Bilbo
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by Bilbo »

I think all AI's crash quite often.
Also, 0.7.0 have bug that can cause AI to crash when it is not AI's fault (if the AI got suspended inside try/catch block), so try 0.7.1-RC1 or newer version (nightlies/svn build ...), AIs will be more stable.
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)
GeekToo
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by GeekToo »

Bilbo wrote:I think all AI's crash quite often.