New OpenTTD Dev versioning/terminology FAQ

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

mironos
Engineer
Engineer

New OpenTTD Dev versioning/terminology FAQ

Post by mironos »

Hello all,

I've created a new version FAQ on the Wiki site that attempts to explain the difference between RCs, nightlies, SVN branches, etc.

I think I got MOST of the information right (I'm fairly new to the terminology myself), but I know it needs review. If those in-the-know could look at it and help me with any corrections that need to be made, I would greatly appreciate it.
mart3p
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by mart3p »

Excellent job minonos, I can see myself pointing many newbies at this page. :)

The points on which you ask for correction:
Official Release (Edit required: is this really the correct term?)
This is only my understanding and I may be wrong, but I would say 'official release' refers to any build of the game released by the developers (including the RCs), rather than an 'unofficial release' a user build possibly including patches. A better term might be 'full release' but I'm not sure of the exact terminology that the devs use.
MiniIN
This term refers to bits of code that were also separate from the main branch. However, this has been phased out, and will soon no longer exist.
TO-DO: I'm fairly sure that description is inaccurate. Could someone correct me?
The MiniIN is a branch that contains the trunk code (now the 0.5.0-RC5 code) plus many user patches. Link to this wiki page here. While it is not planned to do any father development on the MiniIN it is not 'phased out'. It was in fact updated today, to synchronise it with 0.5.0-RC5. Once 0.5.0 is released, the MiniIN will be synced to that and then no more updates will occur. At that stage the MiniIN will be 0.5.0 plus all the user patches.
Digitalfox
Chief Executive
Chief Executive