Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 3:51 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bigger Towns
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 8:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 11:42 am
Posts: 12
Location: Lübbecke, Germany
Hi!

First I've got a screenshot auf my newest game for you. It shows my central 4 lined station, but it isn't complete yet.

And I have a question:


Everywhere I see scenarious and save games with huge cities of more than 50.000 peeps. But how can I build such a huge city? Iva got the newest version auf Ttdpatch but I dont know which things are important 4 big cities and how making the game only creates high buildings and not only the damn statues and lil houses.

and excuse my "not so good" english... :D

thx


Attachments:
File comment: 3 stations for wood, iron ore, coal and mais.
SCR11.jpg
SCR11.jpg [ 121.14 KiB | Viewed 5295 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 8:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6934
It's a switch, check the manual or use the configurator to set the switch (recommended).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 3:07 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 11:42 am
Posts: 12
Location: Lübbecke, Germany
yeah ok. i ve read the manual but still i dont know how to build big cities in the EDITOR. Ok big cities is not the problem, i ve activated 'towngrowthlimits' and set it to the maximum. Now I can bulid large cities. But can I easiely create MUCH BIG HOUSES? I ve seen the screenshots of some users here and i cant imagine they build towns with 300.000 inhabitants by the method "destroy all little houses and click on expand and do it so often that there are only skyscrapers".

Is there are easy way or not?

sry but in the manual there is no information about creating big cities in the editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 4:06 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
The big houses are only available in the later years, you have to be in 2000 or 2010 to get the largest ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 4:22 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 11:42 am
Posts: 12
Location: Lübbecke, Germany
sry but i dont play ttd the first time. i know that there are no big houses in 1950


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 5:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13730
Location: London, UK
I do not remember town rebuilding and building while expanding town ..
so if you want to prevent small cottages in city center just demolish the smalest houses in the center, then bigger buildings will appear

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 12:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 11:42 am
Posts: 12
Location: Lübbecke, Germany
do you wanna tell me that for example this town files/joestown.png was build by the method: demolish the smalest houses in the center, then bigger will appear?

oh damn. either this users have nothing to do during their free time or there is a better method.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 7:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13730
Location: London, UK
town isn't so huge .. so maybe ... but I think not many houses were demolished in that case

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2004 11:09 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 4:02 pm
Posts: 51
Location: NORWAY
Just have the right settings for town growt in your cnfg file!

I started a game played it for ca 50 years, then i changed my config file, and my towns did grove as hell!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2004 7:24 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 6:40 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Florida USA
I'm using the following settings (I think they're from the mailing list)
The year is 2160 and my max town population is around 19,000 with a lot of goods delivery to towns and everything running good (good station ratings etc)
I don't use a lot of passenger stations per town and I think that's my problem.

Other settings
town growth limit: 80
One large town per:3

Does anybody have any good settings they would like to share. I've tried changing some values, but haven't had any luck so far.


Attachments:
growthrate.png
growthrate.png [ 11.46 KiB | Viewed 5081 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 5:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
You were looking for something like this, I guess :?:


Attachments:
Town.jpg
Town.jpg [ 508.68 KiB | Viewed 4740 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:00 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Sorry, I forgot. Here are my "cfg" files...


Attachments:
newgrfw.cfg [1.87 KiB]
Downloaded 248 times
ttdpatch.cfg [37.42 KiB]
Downloaded 229 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:27 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
For the Connoisseurs :!: :D
...use the "cfg" files attached above...


Attachments:
TRP38.SV1 [1.15 MiB]
Downloaded 211 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
SHADOW-XIII wrote:
I do not remember town rebuilding and building while expanding town ..
so if you want to prevent small cottages in city center just demolish the smalest houses in the center, then bigger buildings will appear



I would like to agree with you, but the "thing" is with playing the game, so then you will be capable to establish the looks of your town the way you want it to be :!:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:25 pm 
Offline
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 15333
Location: Crouch End, North London
Just keep piling goods into the towns.

_________________
Official TT-Dave W Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11319
Location: Dundee, UK
Dave Worley wrote:
Just keep piling goods into the towns.


I thought you used "stuff" Dave. [/OT]

He is right though. In game, the best way to make a town grow is to provide it with lots of services. In scenario editor, if you lay out a grid pattern first with roads and then place the town the town will fill most of the grid and then click expand. That's how I do it.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2006 3:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:52 pm
Posts: 70
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Ameecher wrote:
In scenario editor, if you lay out a grid pattern first with roads and then place the town the town will fill most of the grid and then click expand. That's how I do it.



That´s nice, but wouldn´t you feel much happier and more satisfied when the towns are getting bigger and wealthier only thanks to your efforts and thanks to the "steps" you decided to take during the normal gameplay?

I would. :)

That´s my opinion, of course and that´s how I do it. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2013 phpBB Group

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2013.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.