Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:08 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:46 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:50 am
Posts: 4
Hi all,

I am a newbie in this forum and looking forward playing the game after I purchased it yesterday! 8)

As far I am concerned, I know I am way behind from everyone who have played the game already! :)

The problem I am having is after I installed the game, no problems and when I double-click the locomotion icon, the screen came up out of range which means my monitor will not go further back than 800x600.

I have looked around in this forum but would like some advise what's the best thing to do? My graphics is well updated and no problems with other games especially Transport Tycoon Deluxe!

I am running on Windows XP Professional.

Any advice or help will be much appreciated as I am hoping to play the game this evening! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:30 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:19 pm
Posts: 422
Location: Bournemouth
Ooh let's see....

Have you tried fiddling with the desktop display settings? If you can change that to a different size and see if Loco will work like that, you might be able to see what you can do from there.

Admittedly, it's not ideal to have to change the settings before and after playing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:39 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:50 am
Posts: 4
I have done that and I have looked up in the trouble-shooting guide too!

I would prefer not to fiddle around the settings too much.

Although I have done that but no luck as can't go below 800x600.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:44 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:28 pm
Posts: 98
Location: 53°N, 3°W or somewhere nearby
From the sound of things, Locomotion is trying to run at 640x480 resolution, which Windows XP doesn't let the user select from the "Display Settings" applet (at least not in Pro, don't know about Home edition).

What you can try is:
Right-click the shortcut for Locomotion (create a shortcut if necessary)
Click "Properties"
Click "Compatibility"
Put a tick in the box that says "Run in 640 x 480 screen resolution" under "Display Settings"

Alternatively, there was a program that could change the resolution of Locomotion, but I don't know if there's a copy on this forum or not.

Finally, you are able to change the resolution inside the options dialog in Locomotion, but this won't help if you can't get into the game :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:50 am
Posts: 4
Done that but my monitor won't accept 640x480!!!???

Any help? :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:48 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 209
Location: half way down the stairs....
It may be a wild shot, but you could try running loco under "compatibility" for Windows 98....

Well, it may be worth a try?

_________________
Regards

Sarah

TR Maps/Scenarios. Index Thread 1

TR MODS & Vehicles. Index Thread 2

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 7:12 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:50 am
Posts: 4
Finally got everything sorted out!

I used Locomotion Resolution Changer and glad I played on it from 5pm until 1 in the morning!!!

Thanks to the person who made it and thanks for these who tried to help me out. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 2:27 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 12:10 pm
Posts: 675
Location: Australia; Melbourne
and now you have the fun time of sorting out the many downloads here, and playing with more advance trains, and even having a look at how others play (there was a comp where you can see how a few teams played one type of map)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:33 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:13 pm
Posts: 1
mdurant1983 wrote:
Finally got everything sorted out!

I used Locomotion Resolution Changer and glad I played on it from 5pm until 1 in the morning!!!

Thanks to the person who made it and thanks for these who tried to help me out. 8)

Hi I am a new noob to these forums and after searching for help on my monitor problem I found this thread. Can anyone help me to find the "Resolution Changer" mentioned in this thread? I would really like to try playing this game someday. :p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 4:58 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 209
Location: half way down the stairs....
Hi.

I did a quick Google Search on "Locomotion Resolution Changer", and found this site...

http://www.home.no/locomotion/

Looks useful! :)

Quote:
Locomotion Resolution Changer Readme
======================================
By another_lomo_player
04.01.2005

With this program you can change the resolution on
Locomotion to a value that isn't listed up in the options in the game.
Your graphic card must support the resolution,
else Locomotion will change back to 800x600.

MUST BE IN THE SAME FOLDER AS LOCO.EXE, IN THE LOCOMOTION FOLDER.
Else the result would be crash.

Checkout http://home.no/locomotion for updates and help.

_________________
Regards

Sarah

TR Maps/Scenarios. Index Thread 1

TR MODS & Vehicles. Index Thread 2

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2013 phpBB Group

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2013.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.