My first Newgrf: Enable power stations to close

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

esel
Engineer
Engineer

My first Newgrf: Enable power stations to close

Post by esel »

Hello

I have for a long time been somewhat annoyed over power stations not closing after not being served for a long time, causing a map to have a lot of power stations.

After reading this thread, and frosch's manual industries, I decided to try to make something in newgrf to make a power station behave the same way as other similar industries (like factory or steel mill).

I have been using a GRF tool from this site: http://www.otenko.com/grf/ to make this grf. Since this is my first try for a GRF I would like to have some comments to what I have done.

I have changed the Industry production flag (0B) in Action0 to 4, making the power station a processing industry, but to prevent every power station disapear I had to make it produce goods (not the most realistic, but easy to do). To prevent it from making a lot of goods, I also added property 1C with value 00200000. This value did however not work as I expected. From the formula from the TTDPatch Wiki, I would expect 12 items of goods from 100 tons of coal, but I get something around 30 items of goods. Any ideas? (0020h = 32d, output=input*32/256 => 100*32/256=12,5, or am I missing something?)

I have tested this grf with 0.6.3 and r14648, and it seems to be working as intended.

I consider the side effect of having power stations to produce goods is OK, but it might be possible to add a new cargo "energy" to avoid it, but hey, this is my first try! :wink:

And the last question:
Is this something that is good enough to add to grfcrawler?
Attachments
EnablePowerStationsToClose.zip
(8.09 KiB) Downloaded 157 times
michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: My first Newgrf: Enable power stations to close