Multiple window support (I'm a dev, want to write)

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

lost
Engineer
Engineer

Multiple window support (I'm a dev, want to write)

Post by lost »

Hey guys,

I'm very interested in adding a convenient multi-window ability to OpenTTD. I've just started with OpenTTD source code, but I have a lot of dev experience in general.
Here's what I want so far:
- add a "pop-out"/"get-it" button to every in-game window (let's call it Win), similar to Shade, Resize, and Mark uncloseable.
- on "pop-out" create an OS window (Wos), and starting at this moment render Win in Wos, change the button to "pop-in"
- handle Win or Wos resizing in that state
- on "pop-in" - remove Wos, and from now on render Win in main window again.

Since OpenTTD is a relatively big project, I'd be happy to see pointers to classes and functions I should start with to get those 4 steps done.

P.S. At this moment I'm also looking forward to seeing any alternative propositions on multi-window experience for users.
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Re: Multiple window support (I'm a dev, want to write)

Post by planetmaker »

That's a complex issue :) But generally windows are handled in the *window* files, which in turn make use of the widgets, found in the *widget* source files. The actual different windows which show in game are found in the *_gui.* files.

However depending on the OS you run on, OpenTTD makes use of different video drivers which handle the actual drawing of the OpenTTD window onto the screen. Thus you'll have to touch every video driver for every OS to make here some progress and start supporting several windows. The video driver code is found in the video folder.
frosch
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Re: Multiple window support (I'm a dev, want to write)

Post by frosch »