Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:54 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 510 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 26  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:45 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 12:55 pm
Posts: 768
Location: Bonn, Germany
More info about the Nintendo DS port, including a rough roadmap can be found in the OpenTTD Wiki.

The current version of OpenTTD DS is Alpha 6.

Changelog for Alpha 6:
  • based on r12452 (internal rev1926)
  • the NDS port now has a different toolbar, more suitable for the small screen
  • for better access with the touchscreen the toolbars have been moved to the bottom screen
  • a fully customizable on-screen keyboard has been added (click on a text field to open it)
  • a newsticker display on the lower screen has been added
  • some windows have been adapted for the NDS screen (more will follow in future releases):
    • intro menu
    • game creation menu
    • minimap
    • build vehicle window
  • when building depots and stations only one preview image is shown which you can rotate by clicking on it
  • information regarding accepted cargo when building a station is displayed as icons now
  • switching screens (left shoulder button L) now only switches the windows
  • many windows (e.g. confirmation dialogs) are now centered on the bottom screen
  • the amount of free ram (in kb) is displayed in the middle of the status bar. This is only a temporary change to help with tracking down a memory leak
  • additionally you can view some memory information by pressing the B button
  • always use new global pathfinder (NPF). the original TTD pathfinder crashes due to too many recursions
  • fixed loading screen glitch

Known bugs:
  • random crashes when the game runs out of memory
  • graphical glitches (mostly during scrolling) because the nds blitter needs to be rewritten
  • minimap glitches
  • trying to create maps bigger than 256x128 crashes
  • the screen resolution is too small making it impossible to click some windows

Please report any bugs that are not mentioned in this list.

Current screenshots:
Image Image Image

A note to anyone looking at the source code: I didn't clean it up this time. :D And lots of things regarding GUI are hacked into it until I have time to redo it properly.


Attachments:
File comment: files needed to play
openttd-ds-alpha6.tar.bz2 [2.17 MiB]
Downloaded 9814 times
File comment: source diff (for developers only)
cleaned up a bit and updated to latest svn.

post-a6.diff [239.67 KiB]
Downloaded 1423 times

_________________
"There's a readme that comes with the source. I suggest you read it."
- Korenn


Last edited by dominik81 on Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:42 am, edited 12 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:57 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:48 am
Posts: 1507
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
Welcome back dominik81 :)
It sure does look like a very interesting project.

_________________
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 1925
Location: Venezia - Italia
O M G O_O

you are the MAN
are you planning to return an active OTTD developer?

can you enable swapping or use the cards memory? i use the SuperCard Lite, which have, if i'm not wrong, 32MB of ram
about the interface, why not use the top screen?

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 1710
Location: Czech Republic
Nice!
Well, now many controls are changed to be compatible even with low (= ~320x200) resolutions, so I am not sure whether is is good to make a complete fork-off.
Optimal way would be to put all the memory-hungry things to be sized according to some constant (like it is with MAX_SCREEN_WIDTH = 2048 now) and for some memory-limited devices you'll just produce version with these constants appropriately lowered. So perhaps put in few patches to similarly "constantize" these thing, so people attempting to port to another device, but similarly memory limited would have easier start.

Although some function (like screenshot) could be probably left out due to limited capabilities of the device.

_________________
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:04 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 2:49 pm
Posts: 196
Location: Germany
conditional compiling any one?
You have to compile it for the ARM processor anyway so you could "just" put everything you don't need or change for the DS into compile time conditionals. I know it's not that easy but you wouldn't need to fork off.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:38 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:29 pm
Posts: 319
Location: Sheffield, England
Dual screen implementation needed I think.

The bottom screen could hold all the interface (and a switch screens button obviously) which would free up some room on the top screen and give a better view of what was going off. Switch screens whenever we need to interact with the "world" using whatever tools we have selected at the time.

You thought about adding an option to use a RAM expansion like the one that comes with the Opera browser?

_________________
Rasing Awareness: Aspergers Syndrome 1 (NAS UK)2 (BBC)3 (YaleDDC)


Something is driving you insane... It is me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:35 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:15 pm
Posts: 3800
First of all, getting this far is already a great job, but... I do not think that creating a fork will be benificial for either version of OpenTTD.

In my opinion there can be enough room in OpenTTD to make a compile time configuration option for low memory/small binary size. Also making the current windows useable at very low resolutions is something that I've been working on every now and then in OpenTTD myself to 'aid' people who want to port it to a small device, such as a Nintendo DS or a Windows Mobile or a Symbian. However, the primary reason for not doing the branch is that it becomes easier for other porters to use 'just' standard trunk with 'low memory' mode for their small devices instead of a (maybe) outdated version of the DS port. It will furthermore make keeping the DS port synced with main OpenTTD version much simpler as all kinds of API changes will be done for you by the people who are performing the changes. On the other hand it means that every once in a while someone has to compile a DS binary and test whether it still uses few enough memory.

Another thing that I have seen is that a lot of branches/forks get into big trouble syncing when they changes are scattered around and small.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:59 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 928
Location: 127.0.0.1
Zelda and Thrilvill both have points in the game where you need to switch the content's of the top and bottom screens since you catch touch the top screen.

<Enter the quick jobby I did in paint to explain this better than I can with words>

I'd love to see this port become playable. :)

Keep up the wonderful work.


Attachments:
op.PNG
op.PNG [ 41.47 KiB | Viewed 64641 times ]


Last edited by Ploes on Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:11 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 2:27 pm
Posts: 164
Location: London, UK
the DS version of The Settlers (which is actuly The Settlers II: Venni Venci Vendi) uses the right sholder button to swtch between screens.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:33 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:27 pm
Posts: 25
Location: The U of K
Maybe, instead of using the standard icons it could be a good idea to use smaller icons (~20px) to save space on the screen.
Also, the menus could be re-laid in order to save space.

_________________
Erm...
Thats It.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 1710
Location: Czech Republic
Standard icons are 22x22 px large, so smaller icons than 20x20 would be needed, perhaps something like 12x12 px ...

_________________
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 2:42 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:27 pm
Posts: 25
Location: The U of K
I tried making a test icon (this one is the save-game button) in GIMP at 16x16 resolution.
Is this OK?


Attachments:
File comment: A test menu icon at 16x16 res.
floppy.jpg
floppy.jpg [ 508 Bytes | Viewed 64894 times ]

_________________
Erm...
Thats It.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 2:56 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 2:27 pm
Posts: 164
Location: London, UK
What about this one?


Attachments:
File comment: Save
Save.png
Save.png [ 349 Bytes | Viewed 64955 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:57 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:27 pm
Posts: 25
Location: The U of K
Yeah, niiice.

Way better than my one!

I tried resizing the titlebar.
This one is at 16px


Attachments:
File comment: Titlebar shrunk to 16px
openttd-titlebar16.png
openttd-titlebar16.png [ 14.69 KiB | Viewed 64830 times ]

_________________
Erm...
Thats It.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:00 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 2:27 pm
Posts: 164
Location: London, UK
That's what i'm doing,
but after the resize, i'm redrawing them to remove the blur

Here's what i've got so far.
Attachment:
DSButtons.png
DSButtons.png [ 1.49 KiB | Viewed 64834 times ]

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:38 pm
Posts: 2791
Location: A house.
I would seriously like this, however I have no access to a copyable ROM for it.

_________________
Hmm, what should I put here...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:14 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 2:27 pm
Posts: 164
Location: London, UK
More buttons
Attachment:
DSButtons.png
DSButtons.png [ 3.4 KiB | Viewed 64744 times ]


All Finished
Attachment:
File comment: All Done
DSButtons.png
DSButtons.png [ 8.64 KiB | Viewed 64574 times ]

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
Well, the guy's face is good for toyland!
:lol:

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:23 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:06 pm
Posts: 165
Fixed the poor guy's eyes...
edit: i thought some lines in the industry roof and in the zoom buttons were too blurry...


Attachments:
guy.png
guy.png [ 541 Bytes | Viewed 64573 times ]
pixelfun.png
pixelfun.png [ 934 Bytes | Viewed 64485 times ]

_________________
Gonozal_VIII patchpack
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nintendo DS port
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:53 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 2:27 pm
Posts: 164
Location: London, UK
That looks much better

<edit>
Yeah, the magnifying glases look better with out the glass efect from the bigger versions.

And the darker roof fits better too

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 510 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 26  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2013 phpBB Group

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2013.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.