Vehicle Orders UI overhaul

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Simons Mith
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Vehicle Orders UI overhaul

Post by Simons Mith »

As per this thread (item 5.1) http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=69835
the vehicle orders UI needs attention. It's powerful but actually getting quite scary.
Caveat: Sorry, but I'm not a competent coder. [Although I am an incompetent
coder. Dunno if that's better than not being a coder at all...] But I do do UI stuff
professionally from time to time.

See also http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=54549 but the approach
there is patches rather than anything more radical. I think it's time to get more radical.

If not beaten to it, I'll do a mockup later, but my first thoughts are these:

The orders UI has a number of weaknesses. One is that it mixes different parts of
orders into a single 'stream of consciousness'. What's there, in what order, has
just grown organically over time. Some useful features are hidden. Some defaults
maybe only suit a minority. The UI for conditional jumps is useful but a bit
unforgiving. Clicking on a depot order gives a warning that you can't alter it, even
if all you actually want to do is move it. And finally, sharing identical orders is OK,
but there is no concept of an 'order template'. Imagine if you could set up a generic
order that said

Go to [ specify depot ].
Refit to [ specify cargo ]
Go to station [ A ]
Load 100%
Go to station [ B ]
Unload 100%

Then you could just fill in A, B, depot and cargo into your template. If templates
could be saved and shared, that would be a massive speedup.

Destinations

The first thing to do is to clean up the order system into sections. The first
conceptual section is destinations. Taking a typical order,

Go non-stop to Tillynor Powerplant (no loading) [far end].

The destination-related parts are Tillynor Powerplant, non-stop, and far end,
in that order of priority.