Advice to improve

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

orient_express
Engineer
Engineer

Advice to improve

Post by orient_express »

Hello

I am new to openttd and am looking for some advice on how to improve.
I am getting really frustrated with train breakdowns and causing huge tail backs obviously reducing production/delivery times.I have upgraded the trains from a 47 to the double engines but one has 50 breakdowns since last service after 3 years!
What is the best way to address this please?
I have attached my save file if you could spare 10 minutes to take a look and see what my options are.
Should I add two more parallel tracks? Separate raw materials supplies to different track?
Im trying not to spend a load of time changing things only to find they dont work.

Any input much appreciated thanks
Attachments
openttd_save1.sav
(124.53 KiB) Downloaded 86 times
3iff
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: Advice to improve

Post by 3iff »

You could try turning breakdowns off.
Sylf
President
President

Post by Sylf »

You can add a depot at the exit of the pick-up stations, and add an order to always visit that depot as they leave the pick up station. A visit to the depot costs nothing, and it will keep the reliability up, preventing from excessive break downs.
orient_express
Engineer
Engineer

Post by orient_express »

3iff wrote:You could try turning breakdowns off.
That would be cheating not improving 3iff :P
3iff
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by 3iff »

Not necessarily, I never have breakdowns on. If I did I would end up smashing the monitor.

If you're really that new to ottd, then having breakdowns off would allow you to concentrate on the many other aspects of the game.

However, if you wish to persist with managing breakdowns then don't let me stop you. Good luck with whatever you do.
orient_express
Engineer
Engineer

Post by orient_express »