Tooltips and Go To orders for fishing ships

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Vedo41
Engineer
Engineer

Tooltips and Go To orders for fishing ships

Post by Vedo41 »

Hi,

I'm an absolute beginner in this game and I've been following Damage's Let's Play Open TTD modded LP published on YouTube in March last year and have been paralleling his game exactly. He's using the Hard Pack 0.8.165 version and I'm using Open TDD 1.5.0, which I guess is the reason for my problems, but I'm using exactly the same GRF's as him. I'm just getting into the game and I've already come across a couple of annoying things that I can't figure out how to fix. The first is the tooltips. In Damage's Let's Play when he rests his mouse pointer on, say, fishing grounds or a building, up pops some useful info in the form of a tooltip, e.g. the number of tons of fish currently available in those fishing grounds or info about the building. But when I play, my mouse pointer shows jack all and I have to click on everything to get any info, and that info is presented in a dialog box which I then have to close with the mouse or keyboard. The only tooltips I get are all to do with menus and dialog box interface elements. It looks like Damage can hover his mouse pointer on almost any in-game building or graphics element and get a tooltip about that thing. The other annoyance is that when Damage clicks on the show the ship's order's button, it pops up the selected ship's orders dialog box with the Go To button already depressed and it stays depressed when he sets each of his fishing ground waypoints. When I select the ship's order's button the ship's orders dialog box pops up with the Go To button unselected so I have to press it. No worries about that, but then I have to keep pressing the Go To button for each of my fishing ground waypoints, which is kind of tedious. The only tooltip-r