Total newbie, seeking tips!

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

StuartStuff
Engineer
Engineer

Total newbie, seeking tips!

Post by StuartStuff »

Hi guys,

I post this with the best intentions, honestly. I used to play Transport Tycoon Deluxe but was never very good at it, just played because it was so fun and addictive and I've only recently discovered OpenTTD.

I've jumped into a few multiplayer games, only to realise just how bad I am at this compared to so many of you! I have zero knowledge of station layouts, acceptable etiquette etc and I'm keen to change that.

For you more experienced players I'm sure having a newbie come along creating, and I quote "ugly s*** stations" isn't much fun, and the constant moaning from said players isn't much fun for me either :) So like I said, keen to learn! Is there some kind of tutorials guide detailing different train stations layouts, or a wiki running through the finer points of the game?

Thanks in advance.
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Re: Total newbie, seeking tips!

Post by planetmaker »

Welcome to the forums :)
StuartStuff wrote: I post this with the best intentions, honestly. I used to play Transport Tycoon Deluxe but was never very good at it, just played because it was so fun and addictive and I've only recently discovered OpenTTD.

I've jumped into a few multiplayer games, only to realise just how bad I am at this compared to so many of you! I have zero knowledge of station layouts, acceptable etiquette etc and I'm keen to change that.