Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:14 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:28 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:53 pm
Posts: 18
I hope this is the right section, there was no "gameplay discussion" or "newbie corner" so I figured this would be the correct place to put it.

I just recently picked up OpenTTD and having a great time with it. I've been spending a lot of time on the Wiki trying to figure out how to best optimize tracks and whatnot. I also randomly found a decent Let's Play on YouTube that gave me a few ideas: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ic-lzaJigDk

I had a game with a pretty obvious scenario where I was wondering how it would have looked if someone a bit more experienced had gone at it.

Image
Bigger picture with map: http://i.imgur.com/igurQ.png

Factory, Farms and loads of flat lands. Pretty obvious what the possibilities are.

How I tackled it:

http://i.imgur.com/dmYTS.png
http://i.imgur.com/wGAN9.png
http://i.imgur.com/9IYrJ.png (the Goods route)

TL;DR: Terminus loading / unloading stations with a Ro-Ro Factory setup. A couple of tunnels to line up tracks properly without issues.

Now - a few questions...
  • How terrible is that setup? Keep in mind, I haven't gotten used to using any signals except Block signals so far. What would be easy optimizations? I only have like 5-6 Farms connected to the Factory so far, I imagine it will go completely wrong if I add more. Plus I didn't leave enough room for expansion.
  • What's the deal with depots and trains? Before I added a few additional depots on the route I had a few trains go massively off route to get to a depot.
  • Is the Goods route a decent length? I started at 1975 so I had the 200km Diesel train that shows up in 1978 and I am thinking I should have made it a longer route that went West/Southwest instead. I don't really know how the whole "lose value over time" thing works yet or if it's even a factor on a route of that size.

If anyone wants to play the map for giggles, the save is attached below (ignore the stuff built so far ;)). It has AdmiralAI, ChooChoo and Convoy "added" (only Admiral is active at Save point, I think). So you may need those to load it? Dunno!

Thanks for the help and much praise to the wonderful people developing this! :bow:

Edit: PS: Happy New Year!


Attachments:
Pitney Transport, 22nd Dec 1976.sav [1.25 MiB]
Downloaded 22 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:04 pm
Posts: 1161
Location: East Coast, United States
Tip: path signals are better at complex junctions. They allow multiple trains through a junction at once, as long as their paths do not intersect. It's easier to understand if you set 'Show Reserved Tracks' in the Advanced Settings to on.

_________________
Like my avatar? See my screenshot thread
Chill's Patchpack, an awesome collection of OTTD patches


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2013 phpBB Group

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2013.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.